Marathon training here I come!

I found the training program I plan to use for my first marathon.  The “County Music Marathon” in Nashville is April 30, 2011(only 19 weeks away!).  I’m excited, and anxious, about starting to train because that means I’m committing myself to something that scares the mess out of me.  My training will begin the week of January 10th.  Until then, I am going to focus mainly on cross training, core strengthening, and speed intervals.  Since people at work have been asking me why I’m limping around so much, I figure it might be time to give my joints a small reprieve from the long runs.

I’m letting you see my training plan now, so that maybe I can convince some of you to run with me.  What do you think?  Are we motivated to get running?

I’ll keep you posted through my training process.

This plan was created by Andrew Kastor, husband of Olympic Bronze-medalist Deena Kastor, and a very good runner in his own right.  Off means what you think, no running.  The numbers represent the mileage for the corresponding day, and XC stands for cross training.

M Tu W Th F Sa Su
Week 1 Off 3 XC 3 4 XC 6
Week 2 Off 4 XC 4 4 XC 7
Week 3 Off 4 XC 5 4 XC 8
Week 4 Off 4 XC 5 4 XC 9
Week 5 Off 4 XC 6 4 XC 8
Week 6 Off 4 XC 6 4 XC 12
Week 7 Off 4 XC 7 4 XC 12
Week 8 Off 4 XC 7 4 XC 14
Week 9 Off 4 XC 8 4 XC 15
Week 10 Off 4 XC 8 4 XC 16
Week 11 Off 4 XC 6 4 XC 17
Week 12 Off 4 XC 8 4 XC 18
Week 13 Off 4 XC 5 4 XC 20
Week 14 Off 4 XC 8 4 XC 14
Week 15 Off 4 XC 6 4 XC 10
Week 16 Off 4 XC 5 3 XC 26.2!
Monday: Off.
Tuesday: Run at a conversational pace.
Wednesday: 60 minutes of non-impact exercise (bike, swimming, elliptical).
Thursday: Run at conversational pace. At end of run, do 4-6 sets of strides: gradual accelerations of about 80 meters or 10-15 seconds. The stride should end with you at about 90% of maximum speed.
Friday: Run at conversational pace.
Saturday: 60 minutes of non-impact exercise (bike, swimming, elliptical).
Sunday: Most important run of the week. Run at conversational pace; be sure to drink a fluid/carbohydrate/electrolyte replacement drink every 20-25 minutes on this run.
