Sow a thought, and you reap an act; Sow an act, and you reap a habit; Sow a habit, and you reap a character; Sow a character, and you reap a destiny.

-Charles Reade

This quote shows the progression of a thought.  Many of us think, “I want to get in shape and start going to the gym, or head outside for a run.”  How often does it actually develop into starting and maintaining a training program?  Well, if you’re anything like me, you’ve made that statement several times, perhaps every year, right after the last burp and loosening of the pants that capped the holiday eating spree!  We start going to the gym regularly up until Super Bowl Sunday and then we burn that New Year’s Resolution to the ground.

It’s been hard to get out everyday and push myself to keep running.  There have been many times that I got out there and just didn’t want to run.  I would feel compelled to negotiate with myself until I worked out a deal that allowed me to quit sooner or cut a few corners on my route.  That’s exactly when the mental part of running kicks in.  I have to sow an act to create a habit.  I have to push myself harder, defeating my self-imposed limitations.

Once I started to sow a habit, running became part of my character.   I love this quote!  I think it really captures that everyday reality that we all seem to face.  If we keep moving in the right direction with a focus on today, the goal will take care of itself.  We have to build Rome one day at a time.

