As I mentioned in the first post, I ran in a half marathon last weekend.  It was one of the most rewarding times in my life! When I began running 5 months ago, my thought was never “I’m going to run a half marathon.”  Instead, it was “Let’s try to get through running one mile.”  I pushed myself more than I thought I could, mentally and physically.

In the past, I tried to run and had very little success.  I told so many of my “runner” friends that I didn’t think I could do it.  My excuses were that I couldn’t breathe and my heart felt like it was beating out of my chest.  This time I convinced myself it would be different!  I started out slower than I had before (around a 12 minute mile).  It took about a month to run a mile without stopping.  After that, it didn’t take much longer before I finally had a mental break through.  I ran 3 miles without stopping!

That day sparked my love affair with running.

